top of page
  • Writer's pictureWKU Alpha Delta Pi

Forever Thankful for Alpha Delta Pi


When I sat in my dorm room in the fall of 2016, I knew that I was about to join a sorority within the next week. So many thoughts went through my head, just like the other hundreds of PNM’s trying to sleep before the first night of recruitment. It was clear to me that I wanted to be in a sorority that would make my last three years of college enjoyable, hold me to a high standard, and look great on a resume. Alpha Delta Pi had a great reputation and was the only sorority I had really had my eye on throughout my

freshman year. So, it made sense when I ran into the sea of blue and white on bid day.


My years in Alpha Delta Pi were so beneficial and amazing. It brought me everything I had wanted in my college experience and more. Throughout my time as a Delta member, friendships were built, skills were learned, and memories were made. As most would say, it was a season of life unlike any other and I wouldn’t change it for the world. Interestingly enough, it wasn’t until I entered the real world, that I realized how much that season of life actually impacted who I am today.


Contrary to what many believe, it was actually the hard moments and the bumps in the road that I experienced while I was an Alpha and Delta member that have made ADPi so applicable after I received my graduation stole. The rejection email from an internship I really wanted, a bad grade that I was convinced was life ruining, a spell of mental health

struggles, and many more hard things were a part of my story during this time.


Whether we like it or not, the first time living on your own in college will not always be smooth sailing. This sorority showed me how to deal with the adversity when it comes our way. How we handle the let-downs is what determines who we really are. Alpha Delta Pi instills in its members that we can always get better and we can always grow from the imperfect. Being the first doesn’t mean that life is easy, it means that when it’s not you can lean on those around you and keep moving forward.


Most importantly, when I look back, I don’t really remember what I posted on Instagram or what I wore to the dances (although it was a blast at the time). What I do remember, though, was the constant presence of Alpha Delta Pi and the people around me that made the tough times a little less heavy and the good times even greater. Thanks to Alpha Delta Pi, I can handle the hardship of losing my job in the middle of a pandemic, while I also celebrating friendship and being a bridesmaid in a sister’s wedding.


It doesn’t matter if you’re reading this as an Alpha, Delta, or Pi member. No matter what point you’re at in your journey within this sorority, let the lessons you have learned or will learn shape your life. Alphas, be hopeful and excited, because you are going to have an experience unlike any other. Deltas, be present and enjoy the moment, because it is over before you know it. Pi’s, be thankful and let’s not forget the organization that taught us so much.


I am forever grateful for my time as an active member of Alpha Delta Pi, it has impacted my life in such a big way.


OBIC,

Macy Kaiser

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
ADPi-Diamond-withletters-reverse.png

Alpha Delta Pi  l  Epsilon Delta l  1633 Chestnut St, Bowling Green, KY 42101

  • White Facebook Icon
bottom of page